Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  CalendarCalendar  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin  Old ForumOld Forum  Twitter  Facebook
Advertisement:
         

General Discussion
 IslamiCity Forum - Islamic Discussion Forum : General : General Discussion
Message Icon Topic: Halal Cheese? Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
Author Message
Muslimbychoice
 
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 June 2005
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote Muslimbychoice Replybullet Topic: Halal Cheese?
    Posted: 19 July 2005 at 12:48am

Asalaam 'Alaikum:

We stopped eating cheese years ago when it was announced that Kraft used enzymes whose source could possibly be pork.  A year or so later I was told that they no longer used pork and that we could eat Kraft cheese.  Recently, a sister contacted Kraft and they stated that the source could either be beef or pork - depending on what was cheapest when they had to purchase it - so they couldn't verify that it was halal.

Does anyone know of any cheese that is halal?  We eat cheese often in our house and I'm struggling to figure out what to do.

 

Asalaam 'Alaikum,
Sumayyah Umm Sadiqah wa Asma

IP IP Logged
semar
 
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
Senior Member

Joined: 11 March 2005
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1291
Quote semar Replybullet Posted: 19 July 2005 at 3:46pm
Salam/Peace,
Semar
The Prophet said: "Do not eat before you are hungry, and stop eating before you are full"
"1/3 of your stomach for food 1/3 for water, 1/3 for air"
IP IP Logged
Nausheen
 
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar
Senior Member

Joined: 10 January 2001
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4191
Quote Nausheen Replybullet Posted: 19 July 2005 at 4:03pm

Auzubillahi minash shaitan ir rajeem,

Bismillah ir rahman ir rahim,

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullah

Is Cheese Halal or Haram? The Question of Rennet

 Rennet is the component in cheese which if is from pig, then the cheese is not halal.

If kraft as you say is not halal, you may check on the the label from other companies if the source of rennet is specified. Or as we are doing, choose a cheese which does not have rennet ... here in Canada we find a couple of brands that do not contain rennet, it should be similar in US. If not, the last option for you would be to call the companies individually and ask them.

If you care to make cheese at home, indian paneer is really easy to make from whole fat milk. All you need to do is add something to make it sour, like lemon juice, then boil the whole thing till the cheese separates out. Seive it through a clean cotton cloth, and that is about it  

Wish you all the best.

Maa salaama,

Nausheen

Wanu nazzilu minal Qurani ma huwa
Shafaa un wa rahmatun lil mo'mineena
wa la yaziduzzalimeena illa khasara.
IP IP Logged
Muslimbychoice
 
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 June 2005
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote Muslimbychoice Replybullet Posted: 19 July 2005 at 6:10pm

Asalaam 'Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatahu:

 

Actually, that's why I'm asking - I wonder if anyone already knows which cheeses are acceptable to eat in the United States.  If so, please let me know as at this time I haven't had the time to research.

 

Asalaam 'Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatahu,

Sumayyah Umm Sadiqah wa Asma

Originally posted by Nausheen

Auzubillahi minash shaitan ir rajeem,

Bismillah ir rahman ir rahim,

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullah

Is Cheese Halal or Haram? The Question of Rennet

 Rennet is the component in cheese which if is from pig, then the cheese is not halal.

If kraft as you say is not halal, you may check on the the label from other companies if the source of rennet is specified. Or as we are doing, choose a cheese which does not have rennet ... here in Canada we find a couple of brands that do not contain rennet, it should be similar in US. If not, the last option for you would be to call the companies individually and ask them.

If you care to make cheese at home, indian paneer is really easy to make from whole fat milk. All you need to do is add something to make it sour, like lemon juice, then boil the whole thing till the cheese separates out. Seive it through a clean cotton cloth, and that is about it  

Wish you all the best.

Maa salaama,

Nausheen

IP IP Logged
Jenni
 
Senior Member
Senior  Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 June 2005
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 705
Quote Jenni Replybullet Posted: 19 July 2005 at 8:57pm
You can absolutely buy halal cheese in the Usa. but you usually have to buy it from a health food store and it will say no rennet or only vegetable enzymes used. Also trader joes has some cheese that contains no rennet and has a brochure about rennet and wich cheeses are vegetarian and which contain it. You can also find Tilmahook kosher cheese in some stores. We love cheese, but pay more for the right stuff!!!
You cant be a good muslim if you are not decent and have a cold heart. Be a decent and kind person and care for women and children and the elderly.
IP IP Logged
Deus
 
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 July 2005
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 134
Quote Deus Replybullet Posted: 19 July 2005 at 9:01pm

If I synthesize these pig-derived enzymes in a lab test tube, then use them in the cheese, would the cheese be non-halah?

IP IP Logged
Suleyman
 
Senior Member
Senior  Member


Joined: 10 March 2003
Location: Turkey
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3324
Quote Suleyman Replybullet Posted: 19 July 2005 at 10:43pm
What about Grana Padano?...is it halal?....
IP IP Logged
Rose
 
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 07 July 2005
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 167
Quote Rose Replybullet Posted: 20 July 2005 at 5:30am

AlSalam 3alaikom,

muslimbychoice,

thanks for asking this question because i had no idea that there was even halal cheese.

So, I looked it up and came across this article:

  "We are grateful to Ellen Schwarzbach of Kraft for taking the time to give us such a thorough explanation.

"Thank you very much for asking if Kraft cheese products contain any animal derivatives. Our comments here apply only to products produced in the United States. Many cheese products produced in the United States do contain a coagulating enzyme derived from either beef or swine. The process of changing fluid milk into cheese consists of coagulating the milk by one of two commonly used methods, each resulting in cheese having distinct characteristics.

The most common method of coagulating milk is by the use of an enzyme preparation, rennet, which traditionally was made from the stomachs of veal calves. Since the consumption of calves for veal has not kept pace with the demand for rennet in the preparation of cheese, a distinct shortage of this enzyme has developed. Consequently, a few years ago it became a common practice to mix the rennet extract from calves' stomachs with a pepsin enzyme derived primarily from the stomachs of swine. These enzymes convert the fluid milk into a semi-solid mass as one of the steps in the manufacture of cheese. This mixture of calf rennet and pepsin extract is quite commonly and widely used within the United States."


So, just stay away from produts that contain "rennet".

Peace

A thorn defends the rose,harming only those who would steal the blossom
IP IP Logged
Page  of 2 Next >>
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Disclaimer:
The opinions expressed herein contain positions and viewpoints that are not necessarily those of IslamiCity. This forum is offered to stimulate dialogue and discussion in our continuing mission of being an educational organization.
If there is any issue with any of the postings please email to icforum at islamicity.com or if you are a forum's member you can use the report button.

Note: The 99 names of Allah avatars are courtesy of www.arthafez.com

Advertisement:



Sponsored by:
Islamicity Membership Program:
IslamiCity Donation Program  http://www.islamicity.com/Donate
IslamiCity Arabic eLearning http://www.islamiCity.com/ArabAcademy
Complete Domain & Hosting Solutions www.icDomain.com
Home for Muslim Tunes www.icTunes.com
Islamic Video Collections www.islamiTV.com
IslamiCity Marriage Site www.icMarriage.com